CR6A1211.jpg

Vintage 2019

The winter did not chill nature as is necessary and we thought, from this moment, there will be a lack of water during the season.

 

As we suspected, early April presented the first leaves. The starry night of April 4 announced -3°C and from the next day we noticed the damage. However, we were privileged in Pernand and there was no catastrophe. The growth was rapide afterwards and the flowers appeared at the start of June.

 

Two heat waves put our vines and their overseers to the test. Odium presented itself and the heat left little margin to work leisurely. 

 

Monday the 10th of September : harvest.

 

Reduced volume for the whites. The reds were more abundant. The sugar levels broke the records but to our astonishment, the acidities were correct. Toward the end of the vinifications, it was necessary to take great attention to prevent their interruption as the natural yeasts have difficulty with elevated levels of alcohol. 

 

Can we speak of another exceptional vintage ?

Without any doubt for the whites : the wines are complex and despite their 14° possess a mineral sap that is appreciable ; the aromatic profiles lead to other dimensions but still with good freshness.

 

The reds are well structured : our work with whole bunch fermentations help to preserve freshness and offer the wines a airiness or diminish any heavy qualities which signify a satisfying success. 

logo.png

CR6A1211.jpg

L’ANNÉE 2019

L’hiver n’a pas refroidi notre nature comme il aurait fallu, et nous pensons, dès cette période, qu’il manquera d’eau durant la saison.

Comme nous le pressentions, début avril laisse apparaître les premières feuilles. La nuit étoilée du 4 avril entraine un - 3 (annoncé), et l’on s’attend, le lendemain, à constater les dégâts. Mais nous sommes privilégiés à Pernand : pas de désastre.

La pousse est rapide, avec une fleur début juin (ce qui va finir par nous sembler normal…).

Deux périodes caniculaires mettent nos vignes à l’épreuve - nos vignes et leurs vignerons. L’oïdium s’installe, et les chaleurs ne nous laissent guère de marge pour travailler avec douceur le feuillage mis à mal.

Lundi 10 septembre : vendanges.

Petits volumes en blanc. Les rouges sont plus abondants. Le mustimètre bat des records, mais, à notre étonnement, les acidités se maintiennent. À la fin des fermentations alcooliques, il nous faut une grande attention pour éviter un arrêt (les levures ayant du mal à travailler avec des degrés élevés).

Peut-on parler d’un nouveau millésime exceptionnel ?

Sans aucun doute pour les blancs : on goûte des vins très complexes, et malgré leurs 14°, avec une sève minérale appréciable ; le nez nous emporte vers d’autres registres aromatiques, toujours frais.

Les rouges sont bien structurés : notre travail avec la grappe entière les garde dans la fraîcheur, et leur offre même un côté « aérien » - ou une absence de lourdeur, qui signifie, pour nous, une belle réussite.

Contact

E.A.R.L. Domaine PAVELOT 
Luc & Lise Pavelot 
6, rue du Paulant 
21420 PERNAND-VERGELESSES 
France 

Contact : Lise Pavelot
Tel : 03.80.26.13.65   
Courriel : domaine.pavelot@orange.fr

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2021 par Domaine Pavelot - avec armelle.pro