CR6A1211.jpg

Vintage 2018

 

A wet winter with rare frosts. The water tables were filled. 

 

The start of the vegetative cycle was once again precocious and by mid-April, the first leaves appeared. Far from being a gradual transition to spring, the vine demanded constant attention as the plant evolved  through the normal stages rapidly. By early June, flowering was completed in several days.

 

The harvest started the 1st of September. I have never seen such beautiful Pinot Noir grapes and my father confirmed that he had rarely seen such quality. Nothing to discard, neither dried grapes or not sufficiently ripe and the quantities were impressive. Alcohol and acidities were correct. A very grand vintage in the making. 

 

The white grapes, perfectly golden, were received in significant volume with a very satisfying level of maturity. From the first tastings, a remarkable complexity that gave the impression of a grand future for these wines.

 

As for the reds, we have a vintage that will surely take its place along side others of the recent past : 2015, 2009, 2005 and 1990.

logo.png

CR6A1211.jpg

L’ANNÉE 2018

 

Un hiver humide et des gelées rares, les nappes phréatiques ont fait le plein…

Le démarrage végétatif est encore une fois précoce, et mi-avril, les premières feuilles apparaissent. Pas de lent dégel printanier, le rythme de travail est donc soutenu avec les tâches dans les vignes qui laissent peu de répit. Et début juin, la fleur explose en quelques jours.

Les chardonnays ont de très belles grappes fournies, un vrai plaisir à regarder.

L’été arrive, chaud et sec, ce qui fait vite progresser les maturités.

Les vendanges débutent le samedi 1er septembre. Je n’ai jamais vu de si beaux raisins de Pinot-noir - et mon père confirme qu’il n’en a connus que peu de cette qualité. Rien à trier (ni sec, ni pas mûr…) et les quantités sont impressionnantes. Quand les degrés décollent, les acidités restent correctes : c’est donc un très grand millésime qui s’annonce.

Les raisins blancs, parfaitement dorés par le soleil, sont rentrés dans des volumes importants avec une maturité très satisfaisantes. Dès les premières dégustations, nous découvrons une complexité remarquable qui laisse envisager un bel avenir pour ces crus.

Quant aux rouges, nous avons d’un millésime d’anthologie qui prendra sûrement place aux côtés des inoubliables 2015, 2009, 2005 et 1990.

logo.png